Bedroom

Send the laundry away!

I have been looking for a mailbox for years, since I wanted to use it as a laundry hamper. Turns out it’s very hard to get one used by the USPS (blue boxes on the corners). If a mailbox is decommissioned, it’s immediately melted down so that nobody uses it to collect mail for identity theft. As you can imagine, when I found these mailboxes at an architectural salvage store, I had to have one.

The white mailbox I bought says “Grade Deposit” on it. It’s from the University of Washington and was used by professors, before computerized grading, to submit grades at the end of the term. Given that I’m a college instructor by trade, it was quite apropos. It now sits in my bedroom where I use it as a laundry hamper.

Leave a Reply

